Central Registry



Central Registry is the Unit of the Registry Department directly responsible for the Registrar’s immediate office.  It is the Administrative base of the Registrars Department from where the activities of all other units of the Registry Department are controlled, monitored and guided.  It is also the heart of the Registry Department from where operational circulars are issued to the University Community including students and friends of the University.  Essentially, the Central Registry is a file and information management unit.  Its functions, duties and responsibilities revolve around management of staff, management of infrastructure, management of tangible and intangible facilities of the Registry Department.


The Central   Registry is headed by a Senior Administrative Staff who reports directly to the Registrar for day to day activities of the Unit.


The operations and activities of the Central Registry is performed in the following Sub-Units of the office:


  • Head of Unit Office
  • Office of Secretary to the Registrar
  • Confidential Files Office
  • Open and General File Offices
  • Mail sorting room/office
  • Dispatch office
  • Receptionist/Mail receiving Desk
  • General Office


The key functions of the Central Registry are as follows:


  • Central Registry co-ordinates the activities of the various units of the Registry to ensure harmony and performance of their key functions.
  • Central Registry is responsible for Deployment and posting of core Administrative staff, (Administrative Assistants to Deputy Registrars) in the University.
  • General Administrative Duties- attending to daily correspondence.
  • Supervision, control and discipline of Senior staff.
  • Conduct of matriculation exercise
  • Appraisals for promotion of staff and related matters
  • Resolution of Students’ Academic challenges and problems
  • Issuance of Administrative circulars and directives


The Officer overseeing the Central Registry is Mrs. I.A.S. Onyeador, Principal Assistant Registrar





Mrs. Ijeoma Agezi Shirley Onyeador is the Head of Unit of Central Registry, Registry Department University of Nigeria, Nsukka. She joined the services of the University as a Clerical Officer in 1982 and rose to the rank of Principal Assistant Registrar in 2014 as a result of her dedication to service, she worked in many arms of the Registry both as a junior staff and senior staff.


Based on her hard work and dedication to service, she served many Registrars of the University as follows: Mr. U. O. Umeh, Mrs. G. I. Adichie, Mr. Nze D.E.C. Onyebuagu, Barr. P.C. Dioka, Mr. A. I. Okonta and currently Dr. Chris C. Igbokwe.


Mrs. Onyeador has the following qualifications: B. Ed of University of Nigeria in (2001) Diploma in Public Administration, Personnel Management of University of Nigeria (DPA) (1989), West African School Certificate (WASC) 1980) and First School Leaving Certificate (1975).


She is a member of Association of Nigeria University professional Administrator, (2005). Fellow, Institute of Industrial Administration of Nigeria, (2018), Member, Institute of Policy Management Development (2019), and Member, British Educational Leadership Management Administrative Society (2020), Member University of Nigeria SERVICOM GUILD (2016), Registrar’s representative University of Nigeria water Resources Management Laboratory, and Registrar’s representative Senior Staff Housing.


Mrs. Onyeador has attended several conferences at ASCON (2014/2017), SSANU Women Conference at Obudu Cattle Ranch (2015), ANUPA Conference at NUC Abuja (2017), Ladoke Akintola University, Benson Idahosa University (2015), to mention but a few. She also served in various Committees in the University, Secretary Committee on Tertiary Institution Social Health Insurance and several others.


She is happily married with children.





S/No. Full Name (Surname First) Status Highest Qualification
1. Dr. Igbokwe, Christopher Chukwudi Registrar DBA, LL.M
2. Onyeador, Agezi Ijeoma Shirley DR B.Ed
3. Arumede, Martin Uhuo CCS M.Sc
4. Ezema, Nnaemeka Julius AO M.A
5. Ekwuribe, Immaculate Chinyere AA B.A.
6. Anizoba, Theresa Oliaku ACEO NCE
7. Okolo, Okey Oliver PEO I A.    Level, NABTEB
8. Ogbonna, Florence Obiageli PEO I B.A.
9. Aniagu, Okereke Patrick PEO II WASC
10. Uzochukwu, Ijeoma Elizabeth HTO II B.Sc
11. Utazi, Orleans Ilochukwukanjo HTO II HND
12. Ezeh, Cosmos Gabriel HTO II B.Sc
13. Ugwueke, Lilian Ogechukwu EO OND
14. Chijioke, Chimezie Victor MRS/EO B.Ed
15. Egornu, Ifeanyichukwu Walter EO NABTEB
16. Aleke, Charity Ngozi TO
17. Onuku, Angela Chinedu ACO WASC
18. Chukwuemeka, Rebecca Uzodinma CCM FSLC